Illustration photo for Wolfs Lair Abyss page


Wolfs Lair Abyss

Wolf’s Lair Abyss is an EP by the Norwegian black metal band Mayhem. It is the first part of Grand Declaration of War, which has been stated on the band’s website. Additionally, the main riff of the last track, “Symbols of Bloodswords”, which is the last tune of the EP, is also featured in “A Grand Declaration of War” and “View from Nihil (Part II)”. This EP was the first release by Mayhem without Euronymous, who was killed in 1993. The new lineup’s material was far more technical than that of earlier incarnations of the band; aside from the intro, each track contains at least two separate sections and is played at a furious tempo. Also, while Maniac’s vocal contributions to the band are generally controversial, his performance on this EP is routinely praised.

All release data on Discogs

Released in 1997 by Misantrophy Records.